FININ2MIN · JUDGMENT INTELLIGENCE
Banking, SARFAESI & Debt Recovery · F2J-C-3778

Monoranjan Roy v. SBI Stressed Assets Resolution Group & Ors.

A show cause notice proposing a fraud classification may be quashed where it rests on a forensic audit report that is itself not conclusive because the borrower's records were unavailable to the auditor; the audit should be completed with documents routed through the liquidator, who holds the books of a company in liquidation.

By CA Nikhil Gupta · Reviewed against the retained judgment 2026-10-11

Finin2min two-minute summary

Monoranjan Roy, a former director of a spirits company now in liquidation, challenged SBI's notice proposing to classify the company's loan account as fraud. The notice relied on a forensic audit made without the books, which had been seized by the state economic offences authority. The Court quashed it but left the bank free to proceed after a proper audit.

Court
Calcutta High Court
Case
W.P.A. No. 978 of 2026
Date
2026-07-02
Bench
Krishna Rao
Subject
Banking, Insolvency and Finance
Disposition
Writ petition allowed; show cause notice quashed
Result
The show cause notice of 2 December 2025 issued by SBI was quashed, with liberty to the bank to take appropriate steps in accordance with law, and directions on how the forensic audit may be completed with the liquidator's help.
Neutral citation
Not stated in retained copy
CNR
Not stated in retained copy
Connected matters
None recorded
Relevant period
See facts and judgment
Read complete judgment PDFPublic court copyOfficial court portal

What happened

The petitioner was a director of Pincon Spirit Limited, a borrower from a consortium of banks led by SBI. The Directorate of Economic Offences, West Bengal arrested the petitioner and other directors in November 2017 and April 2018, seized records and stocks, and sealed the company's premises. CIRP was started against the company, a liquidation order followed, and the NCLT ordered the DEO to de-attach the properties by orders of 19 February 2020. SBI appointed R. Dokania & Co. to do a forensic audit for 1 April 2013 to 31 March 2018, whose report of 4 June 2025 recorded that the borrower had provided no documents and that it had reviewed limited documents from the lenders, and gave findings on payments to entities said to be defunct, payments to a former director and trade receivables, subject to further findings on production of complete records. The bank issued a show cause notice on 18 November 2025 and, after the petitioner replied on 29 November 2025, withdrew it and issued an identical one on 2 December 2025, asking for a reply within 21 days. The petitioner argued that the report was inconclusive, that the books were with the DEO, and relied on T. Takano v. SEBI on disclosure of material. The bank said the report was enclosed and the Master Directions on Fraud Risk Management give 21 days to reply, and relied on Union of India v. Kunisetty Satyanarayana that a show cause notice is quashed only rarely.

Questions before the court

Why the court ruled this way

The audit report itself said its conclusions were based on the limited evidence available on its date, subject to further findings on production of full records, and noted that the borrower did not give documents and that its mail requests were blocked (paragraphs 18 to 21 and 25). Once liquidation starts, the board's powers are suspended, the liquidator is the custodian of books, and the auditor should send a formal requisition to the liquidator, and all formal document exchange must be routed through the liquidator (paragraph 24). The Court noted the principle in T. Takano that material influencing an authority's decision should be disclosed, while accepting from Kunisetty Satyanarayana that quashing a show cause notice is exceptional; but here the notice rested on a report that was not conclusive because the borrower's documents were not available to the auditor (paragraphs 26 to 28).

Controlling point

The impugned show cause notice could not stand because the audit report on which it rested was not conclusive.

Order and next steps

The writ petition was allowed and the show cause notice dated 2 December 2025 quashed and set aside, without preventing the bank from taking appropriate steps in accordance with law. If the bank wishes to rely on the forensic audit in future, it may ask the auditor to obtain documents from the liquidator or the DEO to reach a definite finding; the petitioner must forward any document the auditor requests, if in his possession, after verification by the liquidator in writing.

Practical implications

A borrower or former director facing a fraud-classification notice can ask whether the underlying forensic report was made with access to the books, and a lender can complete the audit via the liquidator before issuing a fresh notice.

Limits of this ruling

Law and judgment source

The linked PDF is a complete public court-copy document. The official court portal is provided for independent verification; a stable judgment-specific official link was not independently established.

Source checked: 2026-10-11 · Judgment paragraphs: paragraphs 1–30 · Later case history: not verified. Verify appeals, stays and subsequent orders before reliance.

This page is informational. Verify the current official court record, subsequent history and applicable law, and obtain professional advice for a specific matter.